About Bamboo

Bamboo are classified as giant grasses. In the grass family (Poaceae) is the sub-family Bambusoideae, which contain two tribes with the main being Bambuseae (the woody bamboos).

Existing worldwide there are about 80 different genera and 1500 species of Bamboos, which include among the most fastest growing and valuable of plants.

Most of these are native to Asia, followed by the Americas, and then the African continent, with 1 native to Australia.

Bamboo species worldwide range in height from 0.5m – 45m tall, here at Charlie’s Bamboo, the maturing height range available is between 3 – 18m.

Bamboo species worldwide range in height from 0.5m - 45m tall. At Charlie's Bamboo, the range available is between 3m - 18m.

The 2 main types of Bamboo are clumpers (non-invasive, tight-clumping habit) and runners(invasive, wide spreading habit). Clumpers don’t escape from where planted. They keep to themselves in a tight clump, that expands only slightly each year. Due to very short and thick rhizomes, new shoots appear only literally right next to the mother culm.

non- invasive clumping bamboo
invasive running bamboo

All our bamboos are non-invasive clumping bamboo

Know more about our stock